The Trip So Far: Islay

Islay, pronounced Eye-La, is a small island off the west coast of Scotland.  It has a population of around 3 to 4 thousand people, thousands of angry sheep, and a few birds who want to pick a fight with your car… but most importantly, it is the home of the Islay Peated Scotch Whiskies!

All told I was about to visit 7 of the 8 distilleries, only missing Bowmore in the end, was able to get a tour of three, and most importantly got to try several new and tasty whiskies.  My new favorite is the Octomore 7.3 from Bruichladdich, of which I’m bring home a bottle, but some of the other more interesting ones included the Laphroaig’s Sherry Cask tasting, the Bunnahabhain’s Hogshead, and the Caol Ila Moch which is a breakfast whisky…

Here are some photos, though most of the distillaries would not let me take photos inside, Laphroaig did and I’ll post up more later.

